Don’t look! Don’t do it! Don’t tell me! Shh!

Standard

The Internet is a dangerous place.Aside from the obvious psycho-stalking and obsessions with cats, the Internet is an especially dangerous place for an avid reader, specifically readers who are trying to avoid finding spoilers about the book series they’re reading.

I was just minding my own business, cruising a blog I haven’t particularly been reading up on lately. And BAM.

Right in the throat.

I mentioned earlier that I received the first four books in George R.R. Martin’s highly acclaimed Song of Fire and Ice series as a Christmas present. I’m about 3/4 through the second one, A Clash of Kings.

Now, ordinarily, I’m a cheater and read the last few pages of a book just to see what happens. I read a marvelous quote by Nora Ephron the other day, “When I buy a new book, I always read the last page first, that way in case I die before I finish, I know how it ends. That, my friend, is a dark side.”

But no, this is different. I have not touched the last pages of Clash of Kings, nor did I touch the last pages of Game of Thrones before I reached there by the natural order of the world. I’m also simultaneously watching the HBO series Game of Thrones, based on the series, and I’m taking special care to only watch the episodes that the books have already covered up to the point where I am. You know why?

Of course you do. You’re a bunch of clever readers.

YOU DON’T WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS.

Especially in a series where there’s three, four, five, six, seven books. In the middle of Book Two one never wants to know what happens at the end of Book Four.

But the Internet has violated that fresh, innocent concept. The story is corrupted, told in a way it was not meant to be told. Now when I finally reach Book Four all the zeal and zest in this massive event will be diminished by the revelation discovered in an online book review that revealed a little too much.

OKAY. JUST A FREAKING LOT TOO MUCH.

Zen. Be zen.

So, in a plea on behalf of readers who’ve been deprived of beautiful, heartbreaking, and ground-shattering moments because of online spoilers that were not first addressed with SPOILER ALERT, I beg you, as both readers, reviewers, and bloggers, to refrain from ruining the golden and magical experience that comes with reading.

Has your reading experience ever been violated by an improperly declared spoiler, either by a friend or online? Tell me your spoiled woes, but without spoilers, of course. 😉

A Clash of Kings by George RR Martin

A Clash of Kings by George RR Martin

2 thoughts on “Don’t look! Don’t do it! Don’t tell me! Shh!

  1. When I was in the process of reading “The Hunger Games” trilogy a few friends told me EVERYTHING TRAGIC IN THE REST OF THE SERIES. I was a little more than annoyed. But persevere! Even though you know what happens perhaps it won’t happen the way you expect it to! Then perhaps you can still salvage some of that joy from the series!
    Happy Reading!
    Ps. The internet is evil. stay off it. 😉
    ~Zozie

    • I totally missed this comment, Zozie. Sorry! It’s hard avoiding spoilers to such mainstream books/movies as THG. I read them back in 2009/2010 before the world pounced on them with hooked claws. 😉 I shall endure, I shall survive this blow to my reader’s pride! Now halfway through the third one and the spoiling moment hasn’t happened yet… Thanks for commenting, Zozie!
      PS: Yes, yes it is.

Drop a comment here!

