Those Perfect Little Sentences

Standard

You know those perfect little sentences that pop out of your pen seemingly of their own accord? The sentences that are pasted on the inside of a book jacket, quoted by readers after the book has been put back on the shelf, and printed lovingly on T-shirts by your devoted team of blood relations.

I love them. The sentences. I love my team of blood relations, too, but that’s besides the point.

I don’t know where they come from, or what environment is needed to produce them, but once they’re sitting in front of me I can’t help but grin. I might write it again three or four times, tweaking a word here or there, or say it out loud, just to get the taste of it right.

Now that I have this little golden nugget to work off of, I can branch off into other, longer, more elicit phrases. Suddenly I have a paragraph. Then a page. And if I sat there long enough I might have a chapter.

I need to sit still longer.

Golden little sentences….

NaWrSoUtDiThaAnYoWriBeMo is still underway, and while I haven’t written in bulk chunks I have got a perfect little sentence to keep my going, main character outlines, a pretty general-yet-still-soft overall plot, and even a few tentative titles (Broken Rainbows.  Haven’t decided yet.).

I’m really enjoying this jaunt I’ve set off on. Instead of having a solid, obvious story line (save the kingdom, get the guy, solve a murder), I’m taking smaller threads and incorporating them into one. When one thread patters out, another slides in. I like it. It’s a theme rather than a plot, and it’s entirely different to what I’ve always done. The character, for now, holds my interest, and I’m learning from her.

What happens on November 30, when the month is up, I have no idea. Tonie Marron might sit in my notebook forever. She might blossom into a full-length novel. At this point it doesn’t matter. I’m trying something new, and it’s the first time in a long time that it feels like I’m using fresh words.

Do perfect little sentences pop out of your pen/keyboard? Do you build around them? How’s NaNoWriMo going?

Let them grumble!

Drop a comment here!

