Poetry Prompts for Precariously Placed Poets

Standard

I find that poetry is much easier when I have a prompt. I can still sit down and write a poem without one, but it takes longer and produces a more strained result, as well as a more emtionally-based piece rather than visual.

My prompts are usually things I come up with on my own, something I see and store away for later writing. As it is the beginning of October, in the heart of autumn, there are a plethora of stunning visual prompts from Mother Nature. I have so many ideas I can’t write them all at once, so I thought it might be a good idea to list them all in one area.

And then I thought Hey, I can’t be the only one who struggles with subject matter for poetry. Maybe they need prompts, too!

So, for any of you uncertain poets, poets-to-be, or entirely confident poets, I’ve created a page where you can go for ideas for poems. Sometimes it’s just fun to see where one word can take you.

For now I’m starting with seasonal prompts, but as time passes I’ll add other categories like emotions, colours, fairy tales, and quotes.

“Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe:
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.”
Lewis Carroll, Jabberwocky and Other Poems
Drop a comment here!

