Hellooo, Mr Darcy (Fictional man-stealing does exist)

Standard

[Everything I’m about to say can be applied to female characters, too!]

I’ve been placed in a perplexing state of mind — though most of my states of mind are peculiar, this one is a real biter.

What sort of relationship does an author/writer have with their leading male character?

Personally, my leading man is the type that I am attracted to (dark eyes, mysterious, sardonic), thus I can accurately describe the feeling of the leading woman’s attraction to him. Others might base their star off a significant other, hero, father, or a prince charming that has yet to arrive.

Please reread that sentence before continuing to the next paragraph.

Bestselling YA novels have sparked some rather disturbing concepts regarding fictional men. Young women (and men, too) have claimed ‘husbands’ from their favourite books, and the actors that represent these characters on the big screen are instant sex gods: posters, fan fictions (ughh), ear-splitting shrieks at sequel releases and movie premiers, lewd remarks, even panties with their faces on them! (Why do I torture myself with the Internet?)

One of the most notoriously beloved men of all time.

 

Or is that the goal? To spark an estrogen frenzy?

Doesn’t that place the author in a strange position? You’ve breathed life into this man who is a treasured companion and even a friend, who could be representing a loved one, and while you’ve been successful enough to sell millions of copies of your book and live to see a screen adaptation*, your man is ravaged by hormonal women, mauled by their hungry talons.

Wut.

My relationship with poor, broken, darling Tristan is nothing like the above description. In my mind he’s a person, someone I know inside and out, and I will treat him thusly. Despite the fact that I can’t give him a hug when he needs one or we can’t stuff each other’s faces with ice cream, I can still have a conversation with him, we can go for walks in the woods, and I can definitely still argue with him.

See? He’s a person, not just a body and a great personality.

What sort of relationship do you share with your leading man? What sort of relationship do you have with the fictional men/women in your favourite books?

*Even pipe dreams can go wrong!

PS- Robert Parry is having another giveaway! Enter to win his novel The Virgin and the Crab in celebration of Elizabeth Tudor’s birthday (September 7th, 1533).

8 thoughts on “Hellooo, Mr Darcy (Fictional man-stealing does exist)

  1. Oh heavens! I feel like I’m still getting to know my men! I have brothers, Iyar and Lucian. And where Lucian is deep, dark and dashing, Iyar is the one I enjoy talking, laughing and sharing my head with. Iyar’s come a long way on a long (not really that long) journey in my mind and has changed quite a bit. I feel like this change has helped us to grow closer and I feel like pulling out a looong sword at the thought of a vicious fan-girl trying to get at him. :S

    • Alright my phone is acting up and I didn’t get to finish that..
      I would say that Iyar and I are best friends, or have the potential of it. I’m very jealous of my tall, strong, blue-eyed- red-haired prince and I would NOT want to part with him. do with that what you will!
      🙂 ❤ ~Zozie

      • Where you have two men, I have one, and I’ve already traveled the distance of the first draft with him. My Tristan will change, just as real people change, but I feel as though I’ve captured his ‘essence,’ if you will.
        You know how I feel about Iyar. He’s a sweetie, and Tristan would be secretly threatened by him.
        Fangirls. Shudder. I’m sure Iyar, Lucian, and Tristan are all capable of defending themselves, but of course we’ll be on hand to keep those beasts in line. You know, when our books are famous enough to bear the burden of fangirls. 😉

  2. I remember hearing that when Anne Rice was writing her Vampire novels (before she went super Christian) she fell in love with Lestat. I’ve always been a little jealous of that to be honest. My goal since then is to make characters that not only will make me fall in love with them, but will make readers fall too. My problem then becomes – when I care about them too much I don’t want to hurt them. And a book is no fun without lots of conflict, which usually hurts characters on some level.

    • I have jealousy issues with my Tristan. I don’t want anyone else to love him like I do. As for hurting my characters…it sounds awful, but I take a sick pleasure in plotting their deaths. Of course I’m sad to see them go, but the hope is that the readers will be sad, too. So I’m making people sad, and having control over a reader’s emotions is utterly empowering!
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. You bring up a good point. If you’re attracted to the main character, then it only proves another reader will be equally if not more attracted. There’s no sense writing about a male you wouldn’t consider dating; if you won’t, the heroine won’t either. She’d be dumping him like a mouldy sack of beans and go for his friend.

    Am I attracted to my main characters? Yes. All the main male characters. I love them all (although I have a long-term relationship with one, one that I could never give up in a million years; the others I could relinguish if push came to shove.). The odd thing that happened in the second book of The Castle Keepers series is that I introduced another male character who is quite different from the one which appears in both (Bronwyn) and I found myself attracted to him, too. It’s like a love triangle. They’re so very different but there are a few certain traits they share (such as loyalty) that I’m crazy over.

    Would I be jealous if females everywhere went crazy over my males? No. Because that one, lone-term relationship is rock solid; he’s as honourable as the day is long, so he’d stay true. 🙂

    The relationship with the main female characters is that of best friends. We’d read together, hike together, battle dragons together and drink together.

    • My heroine and I are very different, so I have take both her and my interests in men into account. Her attraction for him is a growing, gradual change that has the potential to consume both of them, whereas I loved him at first sight. If my male protagonist hadn’t already captured my heart and been written for my female protagonist, he’d certainly be threatened by the joking, compassionate solider-brothers he keeps as best mates; juggling his best traits with his tendency to be brooding and even moody is keeping me (and hopefully the reader) in a constant flux of loving him and being irritated by him.
      I had a male character in my first draft that was, at the time, my favourite character I had created. Ever. Unfortunately, I decided he was unnecesarry to the plot and had to cut him out. I guess you could say he’s my dirty little secret. 😉
      Ah, I envy your strength in your men, but tis my own fault for not giving Tristan characteristics such as chasity or self-control. But his faults are what make him who he is, and that’s why I love him. 🙂

Drop a comment here!

