Tag, confess, and pass it on!

Standard

I’m a procrastinator (surprise!). Apparently it’s a genetic weakness.

I’m also up to my ears in midsummer events, making it impossible to sneak away to the computer long enough to read blog posts and update my own blog.

But that’s enough with the excuses. Way, way, waaaay back on May 28, Diane Tibert ‘tagged’ me. The rules are:

1) Answer the questions posed by the tagger:

a) What was the last book you read?

The Wives of Henry VIII by Antonia Fraser (I’m trying to catch up on Anne of Cleves, lucky No.4)

b) Physical books, ebooks or audio books?

Goodness, physical books! I love smelling them, feeling their pages. Though, if I ever found an audio book with Jude Law’s voice…I wouldn’t pass it up.

c) If your life was made into a movie, who would you like to play you?

Emma Thompson (think of her performance as Professor Trelawney in the Harry Potter movies. Yes. That’s me.)

d) Who is your favourite fictional character—book, comic or movie—of all time?

The first name that popped into my head was Jo March, of Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women and Little Men. She’s so stubborn and strong and … different. And she has short hair, like me! Christopher Columbus!

e) If you could visit anywhere in the world, where would you go?

That’s not a fair question! So I’ll be vague — the UK! Places to go include Hever Castle, Westminster Abbey, Tower of London, Hampton Court Palace, National Portrait Gallery — everything Tudor-y.

f) Blueberries, Raspberries or Strawberries?

All three, though I hate picking blueberries.

g) Have you written a story which included an animal? What was the animal?

The first story I remember putting to paper (age 7, maybe) was about a super monkey called George. More recently, the protagonist in my fantasy-esque manuscript has a horse called Frost, loosely based on my own horse by the same name.

h) Typewriter, computer or looseleaf for drafts?

If I had a typewriter, I’d definitely use it. But alas, I do not, so I alternate between looseleaf and the computer.

i) What is the name of your favourite character in one of your stories?

Tristan. He’s so broken and tragic, independent, mysterious… I want to hug him all the time. Plus, he’s pretty easy on the eyes. Maybe I’m biased.

h) Do you like to write in a particular genre? If so, which one?

Generally fantasy-esque type stuff, but I’d like to try my hand at historical fiction at some point.

j) Pool, lake or ocean for swimming?

We have a pool, so I’m gonna say pool… But I’m not picky as long as I’m in good company.

2) The next rule in the Tag Game is to post the rules:

1. You must post the rules!

2. Answer the questions and then create eleven new questions to ask the people you’ve tagged.

3. Tag seven people and link to them.

4. Let them know you’ve tagged them.

My eleven questions to those tagged (some are repeated from above because they were great questions):

a) What was the last book you read?

b) Physical books, ebooks or audio books?

c) If your life was made into a movie, who would you like to play you?

d) Who is your favourite fictional character—book, comic or movie—of all time?

e) If you could visit anywhere in the world, where would you go?

f) Blueberries, Raspberries or Strawberries?

g) Favourite genre of music?

h) In an inter-fantasy-species war, who do you want as allies?

i) If you had a time-machine, what year/place would you visit?

h) Are you looking forward to any books/movies this year? If so, what ones?

j) Favourite historical figure(s)?

~~

On June 24, Darlene Foster nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award AND the Reader’s Appreciation Award. I’m sort of in shock at this warm and wonderful gesture. Thank you, Darlene! Make sure you check out Darlene’s blog here.

 

 

Rules for the One Lovely Blog Award are:

 

  • thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog
  • share seven things about yourself
  • nominate 3-10 blogs for the award and link to them
  • let them know they’ve been nominated

Seven confessions?

1. Latest curiosity is Julie de Saint Laurent, mistress of Prince Edward Augustus, father of Victoria. They lived in Halifax, Nova Scotia for a time while Edward was governor.

2. My favourite dwarf from Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs is Bashful.

3. I own 2 novels by Phillipa Gregory, but have no desire to read them after the bad rap The Other Boleyn Girl has received by Tudorphiles and historians.

4. I’m the tallest member of my mother’s family by an average of six inches (I’m pretty sure they’re descended from hobbits). 

5. I want to learn more about Christina of Milan, potential fourth wife of Henry VIII.

6. Trilliums are my favourite flower.

7. The first thing I would do if I ever set foot in Hogwarts would be to race desperately to the portrait of Anne Boleyn and have a conversation with her. (Though I might suffer a heart attack first, in which case I would come back as a ghost to finish the conversation.) If you haven’t noticed, Anne hangs on the wall in Philosopher’s Stone as Harry, Ron, and Hermione sprint up the staircase to save the Stone. Google it!

 

~~

So. I’m going to pass along the One Lovely Blog Award to and ‘tag’ the following blogs. Don’t feel obligated to accept them or pass them on (if you’ve already received/done this, well done! It’s up to you if you’d like to do it again). It might be a time-saving idea to merge the 2 together (I didn’t because I’m procrastinating something else at the moment).

  • Laura Best – read her witty posts on writing, her works, and living in a small town
  • Cristian Mihai – check out the wonderfully composed posts and advice on writing and self-publishing
  • Remembering the executed – touching and well-researched blog dedicated to remembering those whose lives ended in such tragic ways
  • somethingbiggeroutthere – Zozie’s blog regarding her writing, war cries, and faith

Make sure you enjoy this fabulous Nova Scotian weather! (And if you’re ‘from away,’ I hope your weather is just as lovely!

2 thoughts on “Tag, confess, and pass it on!

  1. Thanks for the mention and I loved your confessions! I did enjoy the White Queen by Phillipa Gregory. I will check out the other blogs. (I am already a huge fan of Laura Best so I am glad you passed the award on to her.)

    • Thank YOU for passsing this along to me! I had fun writing the confessions. Alas, I can’t seem to look passed the twisted history she created in ‘The Other Boleyn Girl’…and her later defensive arguments regarding it. Susan Bordo wrote a great article on Gregory and TOBG, which can be read here. But maybe someday I’ll find those books and attempt to read them…Maybe. 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

Drop a comment here!

