A Little Bit of Faerie

Standard

Are there fairies at the bottom of your garden? Have you ever gone looking?

Today I did some poking around, wary of disturbing any territorial squirrels, and inspected and enjoyed a great deal of the early summer foliage that has been popping up. I didn’t find any fairies, but plenty of mosquitoes!

The Painted Trillium, my favourite flower.

Nope, no fairies here either…

AHH! IS THAT — oh no, nevermind. Just a mosquito.

Wouldn’t this be great hiding place?

Anyone in there?

Such a gorgeous purple…It would make a lovely dress.

I know I can’t see you, but I bet you’re watching me.

In my opinion, fairies (along with dwarves and unicorns) have gotten the tail end of the fantasy spectrum. They are portrayed in one of two ways: mischievous, fun-loving, thimble-sized folk who drink nectar and wear spider silk (e.g., Peter Pan, Fern Gully, A Mid-Summer Night’s Dream) OR are human-sized, seductive, dark, emotion-sucking demonic sex symbols (e.g., Wicked Lovely, Lost Girl). Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy both Fern Gully and the Wicked Lovely novels — but which are real? Who knows. But there are people who still believe, and for that we should be grateful. 

A post on the fairies of Cottingley later this week.

Do you believe in fairies?

5 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Faerie

    • Thanks Kyle! My camera is only a 10x zoom, so I was pretty pleased with how some of these turned out. I adore the photos on your blog — I’m now following. 🙂

      • Thanks Libby! And… Yeah I only take photos with my iPad so I don’t really have a zoom 😛 Which makes it really hard to get those up close pictures! I try anyway though. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, and I’m glad you liked the pictures on my blog! I’m following yours now as well. Look forward to what you have in the future!

  1. Wonderful photos, Libby. You’ve captured the Lady Slipper–one of my favourites. I’m certain fairies gather near them. I haven’t seen one in years…the flower that is.

    Do I believe in fairies? You might say I do, but I won’t tell where they live. However, I will share a photo of them. It’s here in a previous blog of mine: Flight of the Fairy Captured on Film: http://dianetibert.com/2012/01/05/flight-of-the-fairy-captured-on-film/

    Like fairies, dwarfs are often portrayed in steriotypical fashion. The dwarfs in my stories are shorter than humans, but are no less handsome, and they don’t spend their time chugging back ale, and some…goodness!…don’t even have beards.

    • Thanks, Diane. Lady Slippers are quite abundant in my neck of the woods (pun intended), as are Painted Trilliums.
      Haha, yes, the places where fairies dwell are best kept a secret. They would not benefit from nosy humans, like myself, poking around any more than we already do. It is better that we can enjoy their prescence without disturbing them. What an extraordinary photograph! It’s beautiful and very…curious.
      I’m glad your dwarfs are not stereotypical, Diane. In Lord of the Rings, I found that Gimli was, sadly, mainly used for comic relief from the serious plot. Dwarfs are so much more than that.

Drop a comment here!

