Standard

My post-childhood introduction to C.S. Lewis on the blog I am co-authoring with Zozie. Hope you like! 🙂

You are the Tolkien to my Lewis.

I met C.S. Lewis as most do.

Through the wardrobe.

The simple magic of his words captivated me, the tangible reachability of Narnia tempted me. I wanted nothing more than to be tossed into the wardrobe, however unharmonious and with any number of cuts and bruises, and into the land of centaurs, fauns, satyrs, minotaurs, dryads, Talking Beasts, and more. I nearly became heartsick with the desire.

The most incredible thing about this transformation?

It was only last year.

Unlike my Grade Four classmates (many years ago), who were chipping their way through the seven-volume series, I never touched the Chronicles of Narnia, and I haven’t the slightest idea why. Perhaps it was the commitment that came with undertaking a series. Perhaps it was because I was already immersed in other classical books like Robin Hood, Little Women and The Swiss Family Robinson, along with the traditional horse and animal-loving novellas that nine-year-old…

View original post 318 more words

One thought on “

Drop a comment here!

