Cursed Comments

Standard

Spam comments.

*growl*

Why so happy, buddy?

Never had I realized (foolishly) that running a blog means sifting through spam comments. And, up until this week, spammers were far and few in between — until now. I’ve had nearly 100 cursed comments fill my spam folder in three days. It’s annoying. It’s inconvenient. It’s time-consuming. Mainly the commenters’ usernames are that of a business, or a seemingly random pattern of numbers and letters, and, to be honest, their comments are not harmful or insulting or advertisements.

They’re filler.

“Great post.” “I learned a lot.” “It was inspiring.” “It made my day.” etc…

I might approve these comments if they were on posts that made sense. For example, I’ve had a couple “Thanks for the advice” on posts starring the unpredictable Nova Scotian weather.

So, I’ve been deleting comments that are made by people with odd usernames (such as crane hire or skfjbsdnf34) and comments that don’t match the post they’re made on. If I’ve deleted a legitimate comment by you, I profusely apologize. 

And, while we’re on the subject of commenting, I have to confess that I’m a shy commenter. I follow more than a dozen blogs, and hardly have I ever made an attempt to make contact with the blogger. It doesn’t mean I don’t read your posts! I do, I really do. It’s just that I’ll open the comment box and stare at it for several minutes before typing something, deleting it, and instead ‘liking’ the post. It’s an easy way out.

It’s also a habit I’m trying to break, especially if the blogger has commented on my blog in the past.

Wish me luck. In the meantime, are you a shy commenter? Are you inundated with ‘cursed comments’?

6 thoughts on “Cursed Comments

  1. LisaJohnson

    I am definitely afraid when it comes to posting. I’m so afraid I will sound like a blubbering idiot, so I, too, will stare at the comment and then just hit like.

  2. Sonia

    I’m not like that…I’ll just comment-like now for instance…and If I sound like a blubbering idiot, or worse…I’ll try harder to get it right the next time. Lol…

    Btw, ladies…it doesn’t really matter what other people’s opinions of you are-you know why?
    Simple.
    You KNOW YOUR OWN TRUTH!

    Happy Commenting….

    • Lol, Sonia, that’s a time-saving attitude you have! 😉
      And of course you’re right!! It’s awful that society is so self-conscious, which I why I always say, “Let them grumble!” 🙂

    • Spam comments are not fun, especially because there might be a person who commented, but never got recognized because of my over-flowing spam folder! Haha, I wish you the best of commenting luck! 🙂

Drop a comment here!

