Blogging Identity Crisis and Local Art Show

Standard

Though I might not always know what to do or what to say, I’ve never lost that unique sense of myself. I know who I am and who I want to be. So it’s with utter bamboozlement and a little sadness that I admit to having a slight Blogging Identity Crisis.

It’s hard balancing all the things I want to talk about. I want to tell you about the colour of Anne Boleyn’s hair and the twelve different uses of dragon’s blood. I want to write about expressing one’s self through unusual clothing and the divine art of Pretend and the sincerity trees exude when you hug them.

Those are all very diverse things. Are they too diverse for one blog? Will they bore people?

While I can probably handle the content (after all, it is my blog, and I suppose people will grumble always), I’m most leery about the Theme. When you make a blog, you pick one of 170 themes. This is called ‘Chateau.’ I chose it because I thought it was haunting and beautiful and I enjoyed the default header picture.

But is it ‘grumbly’ enough? If the things I’m writing here are grumble-worthy and the Theme isn’t, then what am I saying? While Chateau is pretty, it’s not what I’m trying to imply to readers. It’s sophisticated, perhaps too much so for Let Them Grumble. It’s clean and neat — unlike nearly everything I do.

So over the next week or two I think I’ll be test-driving some other, more grumbly Themes. Albeo, perhaps? Or Matala? We’ll see. I’ll find it.

On a completely different note, the 4-H members of Colchester and Halifax East-Hants are pleased to invite you to an art and crafts show and sale!

The show will take place at the Winding River Art Gallery above the gift shop at Mastodon Ridge in Stewiacke.

The youth will be displaying photography, paintings, drawings, sculptures, rug hooking, jewelry, and much more!

Please join us for our OPENING NIGHT RECEPTION Friday, February 17th, 7pm – 9pm. Meet the artists and enjoy complimentary snacks and refreshments. And, yours truly will be doing a reading.

The Show will continue Saturday, Feb. 18th and Sunday, Feb. 19th, 10am – 5pm.

Not only is this a great opportunity to see some amazing work, but also to learn a bit more about 4-Hers. There is more to us than cows and rubber boots! I highly recommend any youth (between the ages of 9 and 21) join your local club next year; it’s a great program and I’ve learned wonders from it. You don’t need to show an animal — you can do Photography, Crafts, Scrapbooking, Heritage, Sewing, and tons more! Animal projects include Dairy, Light Horse, Rabbit and Cavi (Guinea Pig), Waterfowl, Poultry, Goat, and Sheep!

Anyway, spread the word about the local Art Show and hope to see you there! 

Helpful links:

5 thoughts on “Blogging Identity Crisis and Local Art Show

  1. Libby, many of us go through the same thing when we begin a blog. Eventually, some of us settle into a groove while others continue to post on topics all over the board. The focus on my blog is writing, but I discuss many things. I always tie the topic into write regardless if I’m talking about another race found on an island far away, Gerard Butler’s eyes or my sheep. Sometimes I stray, but that’s okay.

    The important thing is to keep writing, keep explore and learning.

    I love this design, but I understand your need to try new themes. I’ve changed mine three times.

    By the way, do you know about the East Hants Fine Arts Show in May? I will be participating this year and at least two of my kids.

    I blogged about you today. You can find it here: http://dianetibert.com/dianes-blog/

    • I just realized I spelt ‘identity’ wrong. Fixing now!
      Thanks for the advice, Diane, and also for your blog post about me. It’s great having some new readers! And about writing all over the board? I have a feeling I’ll be like for awhile, if not always, though I imagine Tudor history will be a regular guest!
      No, I haven’t heard about it (or at least I don’t remember!). Do you have a link to share?
      Thank you as always for commenting 🙂

  2. The last time I checked, I couldn’t find a website for the East Hants Fine Arts Show. This weekend I’m going to contact the person who handles the registration for the art show. I need to get forms for myself and my three kids. If the email still works, I’ll forward it to you through your email address not here in the comments.

    From previous years, I’ve learnt:
    It’s held the last weekend of April in the Milford Recreation Centre.
    It cost between $5 and $10 to enter a maximum of six pieces.
    Different age categories separate the young artists the … mature ones.
    There’s different mediums: water colour, pencil, coloured pencil, etc.
    Lots of ribbons are awarded and several neat prizes.

    The form to enter includes all the rules regarding how to present the art work.

Drop a comment here!

