A Diamond for Elizabeth

Standard

Today in 1952 we lost a king and gained a queen.

Queen Elizabeth II sixty years ago.

For many of us, she is the only monarch we have ever known.

Sixty years, sixty diamond years.

She wasn’t born to be our queen, wasn’t born to be anything more than Princess Elizabeth. And here we are, not remembering any other monarch than she. I’d say that’s a job well done.

Long live the queen.

~~~

Elizabeth II is only the sixth crowned Queen of England. The other five are Mary I, Elizabeth I, Mary II, Anne, and Victoria.

For an interesting article on the two Queen Elizabeths click here.

2 thoughts on “A Diamond for Elizabeth

  1. She is the only monarch I remember, too. She reminds me of my mom. They are about the same age, had the same hair style back in the 1950s. And the Queen Mother reminded me of my mother. I bet they were the same size! lol

    I think my grandmother and the Queen Mother died the same year. She is the English side of my family, so it’s not a stretch to see the similarities.

    Great post and lovely photograph. She looks so young.

    • That’s pretty spectacular, Diane. I actually think ’50s hair ought to make a comeback; so glamorous!
      I have quite a bit of English in my family too. Unfortunately no close relatives to have an excuse to visit, though.
      Thanks for dropping by!

Drop a comment here!

