RSS Feed

The Ice Breaker

Posted on

With so many new followers stemming from Claire’s guest post, I thought it might be fitting to re-introduce myself!

My name is Libby, and I’m a Tudorphile and pleasure writer (write for my own enjoyment) living in Nova Scotia, Canada. Despite my extreme desire to tour England and other European countries, I love my little rural community and it’s hard to fathom someday leaving it.

I’ve been writing short stories and poetry for nearly as long as I can remember and am currently working on my first ‘serious’ novel. No, it’s not about the Tudors, but the Tudor era is a large influence on the culture in the world I’ve created — especially the art and music components! Lately I’ve been listening to ‘Greensleeves’ to help me visualize. Here and there I’ll be sharing bits of my writing and my writing process.

I first became interested in Anne Boleyn and her sixteenth-century fellows when I saw a commercial for the show ‘The Tudors’ in 2010. I had to know more about the women the commercial portrayed — how many wives did this guy have, anyway? I wondered. Turning to Google, I was introduced to the six women who were married to Henry VIII. Anne Boleyn immediately commanded my attention, and I practically ran to the library and borrowed every book they had on the Tudors. At first I thought my interest in Anne was a phase, like my short jaunt with the Salem Witch Trials or Irish hunter horses, but it’s been two years and my intrigue is not waning in the slightest. My other two special Tudor friends include Sir Thomas Wyatt the Elder and Anne of Cleves. My friends and family often are infuriated with me because I generally talk of nothing else, but they are probably at least twice more educated about the sixteenth century than anyone you might ask on the street!

Not only am I a Tudorphile, but I love clothes. I’m not sure why, exactly, because it’s a fairly recent interest. Fashion is an art, a way of expressing yourself without words. It can make strangers catch a glimpse inside your head as you walk by. It can make people point and laugh, or complain and grumble. The grumblier the better, I say. Once I sported a polka-dotted flowy tank top with a plaid shirt with a half-dozen necklaces. One of them was a Christmas ornament in the shape of a bird attached to a string. And earrings! I LOVE earrings: feathers and bangles and beads, oh my! I do have short hair, which I adore, and strongly recommend it for any woman or girl who is fed up with the uncooperative knot that is long hair.

One of my recent interests is the story of Tristan and Iseult/Isolde. It’s among my top five love stories (others are Peter Pan and

Tristan and Isolde/Iseult as depicted by Herbert James Draper.

Wendy Darling, Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn, and Shakespeare and his pen) and is just one of those tragic, yet adorable, things.  

Other interests of mine included the friendship between C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien and the cricket team the Allahakbarries. I enjoy classical, pop, folk, country, and Gaelic music, and respect any one with a remotely musical ability (because I have none!). When I’m not writing, I’m reading: history books and fantasy are the two genres I dwell the most in, but I’m always trying new things. I’m a Harry Potter and Hunger Games fan. Someday I would like to get a tattoo, though I’m not sure I’m brave enough!

I’m still a new blogger, so bear with me while I get grounded securely into Blogland. Thanks to those who are following me, and I hope you continue to do so!

So, that’s a little about me. Feel free to introduce yourself and break the ice, I want to get to know you!

About Libby

Writer, rambler, ranter, poet, Tudorphile, bookworm. Sometimes I say things that make sense. Usually I don't.

11 responses »

  1. Hi Libby! It’s very nice to meet you. My name is Cathy. I live in Maryland in the US. I love your descriptive “tudorphile”! So I’ve been a tudorphile since I was a teen, which is several years ago. To my amazement, I discovered while doing genealogical research that I’m Mary Boleyn’s 13th ggreatgranddaughter. I had no idea and I’m completely blown away with that. (tho my family isn’t near as excited as I am). My mother says it doesn’t change who we are now. That is true, but maybe it does explain why I was drawn to the Tudor period and in particular, Anne. I have mentioned this fact a few times on other pages, but, truly it’s just because I’m still trying to believe it myself. I am so glad to have found a community of fellow “tudorphiles” and I look forward to reading and exchanging ideas.

    Reply
    • Hi Cathy, it’s great to meet you too! Wow, it’s amazing that you can trace your family tree back that far — and to Mary Boleyn! I would be simply over the moon if I ever found out I was related to someone of such historical significance. Fascinating! I’m glad you introduced yourself; I’m very excited to be “meeting” and chatting with new people! :)

      Reply
      • Thank you Libby for the warm welcome! As far as being related to a historical figure, you may be and not even know it. You don’t know until you dig in, research and map out all the family lines. I found that my 6th ggrand mother was a “Macon” and her maternal line connects with the “West’s”. Anne Knolleys (Mary’s granddaughter) married Thomas West, governor of the Virginia Colony. Not all of the West’s children came to the colonies, but my line did and there you go. It’s definitely something to check into….you never know.

        Reply
  2. Anne Barnhill

    Hi Libby,
    So nice to meet you! I am a writer and have some of the same interests you have–Tudor England, C.S.Lewis and Tolkein, the great love stories and did you say Shakespeare? Anyway, love your blog and nice to get to know you!
    Warmly,
    Anne

    Reply
    • Hi Anne (I bet you get a lot of comments on your lovely, Tudor-era name!), nice to meet you too! I absolutely adore Lewis and Tolkien — they’re actually making a movie that touches on their friendship; it’s called “The Lion Awakes.” My friends teasingly say that Shakespeare is the man for me, and how unfortunate it is that 400+ years seperate us. ;) Thank you, I hope you’ll continue to enjoy my posts!

      Reply
  3. Hi Libby!

    I’m so glad that Claire’s guest post allowed me to find your blog, because it’s wonderful :)

    My name is Alicia, and I’m from Australia. I’m very much in love with the Tudors, the story of Anne Boleyn dragged me in and I’ve loved it ever since! I also love Anne of Cleves and Mary Boleyn.

    Harry Potter and The Hunger Games are two things I’m also interested, as are Star Wars and The Lord of the Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia. I’m working up the courage to get a tattoo too – my friend and I are getting matching ones, though we’re not 100% sure what yet!

    Can’t wait to read some more of your entries :)

    Alicia

    Reply
    • Hi Alicia! Australia is also on my list of places to visit someday. When I hear people call Anne of Cleves boring, I have no idea what they’re talking about! She was such an amazing woman, and her story is just as tragic as Henry’s other five wives. I think tattoos can be so lovely, and I respect those who have them! It’d be nice to commemorate AB on my skin, but it’s such a big decision! Thank you, I hope you’ll continue visiting! :)

      Reply
  4. Hi Libby!

    What a great site! I am also interested in the Tudors and the sixteenth century in general. I am from Cheltenham in the UK and am in the second year of a part-time PhD degree focusing on catechisms in sixteenth century Germany.

    I look forward to reading more of your blogs!

    Ruth :-)

    Reply
    • Hi Ruth. Wow, that’s impressive! Your blog looks amazing; I’ve subscribed and am eagerly awaiting new posts. Thank you, I hope you’ll continue enoying ‘Let Them Grumble!’ :)

      Reply
  5. Very interesting details you have mentioned, thank you for posting.

    Reply

Drop a comment here!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

